Hard Decisions

It’s been a really hard time around here lately as some of you know. Being mostly unemployed for three years has led to a number of hard choices. Well one of the hardest is going to happen later this week. Since gas money is hard to come by right now, and I can’t get out to properly fly Zephyr, I have made the decision to release him back into the wild. This isn’t the first time I’ve released a bird back, but this is the first time I’ve had to do it because of my own failings. I know that things are going to be better next year, but I can’t ask him to just be a pet until then. It’s not fair to him to ask him to wait for things to get better. He’s not a person who would understand that right now we just can’t go out hunting, but life is going to be better in a few months. So I’m going to do what’s right for him and set him free to be a red tailed hawk. I’m going to take him out somewhere that there are plenty of critters for him, and if he has the urge to catch a cold front and head south for the winter he has that option.
I know he has touched a lot of lives over the past year while he’s put up with me. I know that he’ll be missed by a lot of people, but this is what’s right for him. Even knowing that this is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Wish him well everyone it’s a hard world out there.
Now I have to buckle down and write my fingers off, market the hell out of my various works, and get the money together to turn life around so that I will never again be faced with this decision for these reasons. IT WILL GET BETTER!

This entry was posted in Falconry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hard Decisions

  1. J.T. Evans says:

    Andy,
    I’m so sorry to hear that you’re letting loose a member of your family, but I fully understand why you’re doing this. I just wish that you didn’t have to do this. Know that Zephyr will be happy flying free.

  2. Kari says:

    Oh, Andy, I’m so sorry. I too wish you didn’t have to make this decision. It’s difficult to let go of something you love, even when you believe it best for them. Nah. difficult is a nice word — it’s pretty damned hard! I think he’ll have plenty of stories to tell the other birds he meets along his path about you — I like to believe you touched his life just as much as he touched yours 🙂 (hugs) Things will get better!

Leave a Reply

